Staves for Daily Use, Part 1

Poetry in elder times was sometimes referred to as “staves.” (As in, “I recite these staves.”) This week, I present three staves that Asatruar may find useful for reciting at need as a way to incorporate more ritual into their lives. Actually, many polytheists might find them useful as is, and I suppose any monotheists reading my blog could probably figure out how to modify certain lines if they wanted to. However, they are written from an Asatru perspective. Each is one stanza of ljóðaháttr. I’ll present a few more next week.

Waking Stave

This dawning day
brings deeds of might
for us the bold and brave.
For gifts from the gods,
I give my thanks,
may I wield them well today!

Sun Stave

Sunna I hail
in Sól’s bright light;
may day bring doughty works.
May your shining light
give me surest might
for all my deeds and doings.

Washing Stave

May these primal waters
make pure my life
and wash away the ill.
Let be borne to me
a boon from the gods
by washing with water today.

Copyright © 2013 Eirik Westcoat.
If you like, try reciting these for personal use. All other rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Staves for Daily Use, Part 1

  1. Pingback: Staves for Daily Use, Part 2 | Eirik Westcoat

Leave a Reply

