Audio for The Six Treasures

Today I present the first of what will be many audio recordings on this blog, starting with my popular and award wining poem, The Six Treasures.

The Germanic alliterative poetry traditions originated in a time when all poetry was spoken, for writing did not exist then. It was meant to be heard, for it was not possible to conceive of poetry otherwise. Thus, in the modern revival of alliterative poetry, it is essential that the poetry be heard and not merely read.

Here is the file of me reciting the poem: Eirik Westcoat – The Six Treasures

Enjoy! Feel free to share the file. For details, see the Creative Commons link below.

This post is:
Copyright © 2013 Eirik Westcoat.
All rights reserved.

The linked audio file of The Six Treasures is:
Copyright © 2013 Eirik Westcoat.
Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives License.

2 thoughts on “Audio for The Six Treasures

  1. Eirik, I just listened to your reading from the Six Treasures. It seems very impressive, but I find myself locked into the sound structure abstractly, and it’s hard for me to follow the story because of that. Other than the proper nouns it’s all modern English, so that shouldn’t be a problem. It’s ME. I must confess, even when listening to music the words almost always get by me. If there is nothing noticeably disturbing I generally let the words go by. Here, with your reading, I’m still waiting for a rhyme, I guess, because it otherwise resembles Lord Byron’s verse which does so. It’s like trying to fathom Japanese sounds with English text. Keep up what seems to be the good work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

